XP Additional User

Discussion in 'Security Software' started by Raymond Smith, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. I have only one authorized user on my laptop which uses XP
    home edition. It also is on DSL with a PCMVIA card. When
    I went to shut it down yesterday it said that there was an
    additional user logged on and was I sure I wanted to shut
    it down. Of course I said yes. What does this imply?
    How to stop it from happening again.
     
    Raymond Smith, Sep 20, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Raymond Smith

    Guest Guest

    Someone was logged in remotely to your computer.
    If you dont know who did it, you have been hacked. Get a
    better firewall (I suggest network based instead of host
    based) and you will probably have to format the hard
    drive too.
     
    Guest, Sep 20, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. You have multiple users on the computer.
    After accessing another profile "Switch User" instead of "Log off" was
    used.
    When you started shutdown process, you were asked in case the other
    user was in the middle of something.
    Very normal if another profile is not logged off.
     
    Jupiter Jones [MVP], Sep 21, 2004
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.