Anti-Spyware Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Problem Sharing Files Between PCs

 
 
hwf
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-10-2011, 07:14 PM
Peter Lauren wrote:
>
> I looked at my first message and saw that I neglected to mention that
> the XP PC is supposed to be in the DMZ while the Windows 7 PC is
> behind a router. I am trying to set up a DMZ with the web layer
> connected to the Internet and the application layer accessible only
> from the web layer through a type of filter so that it cannot have
> direct access from the Internet. I have ZoneAlarm on both PCs and the
> two PC are connected through a LinkSys router. I am on a steep
> learning curve which is why I'm here.
>
> Thanks,
> Peter.


I'd suggest you let the router handle the firewall, not zone-alarm.
Same with any windows firewalls; disable them and let the router take
care of things. From what Ive read, trying to do what you want via
"Workgroups" isnt going to be easy. You'd be better off either using 3rd
party software with an idiot-proof interface or learning how to set up
"Domains".

HTH
--
http://www.privacySOS.org | www.extinctioncrisis.org
www.snuhwolf.9f.com|www.savewolves.org
_____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
/ __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
_\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
/___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Peter Lauren
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 02:42 AM
On Oct 5, 3:08 pm, hwf <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Peter Lauren wrote:
> > On Oct 4, 9:28 am, G. Morgan <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> >> Peter Lauren wrote:
> >>> Any assistance with having the network visible on the Windows 7 PC
> >>> would be greatly appreciated.
> >> Go here:

>
> >> Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced
> >> sharing settings

>
> >> Turn them all on.

>
> >> Explanation here:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...d-printers-bet...

>
> > Thanks. I had been trying to work through that link before. I make
> > sure that both machines have the same workgroup. I also have the
> > right advanced sharing settings. But I can't go into Network in
> > Windows 7. The Windows Explorer window on has > Computer > but not >
> > Network >

>
> > Thanks,
> > Peter.

>
> Just follow the instructions here:
> <http://www.petri.co.il/inside-windows-7-network-and-sharing-center.htm>
>
> HTH
>
> --http://www.privacySOS.org|http://www.extinctioncrisis.orgwww.s...savewolves.org
> _____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
> / __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
> _\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
> /___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\


Thank you for getting back to me about this. I tried the link and it
mainly discusses how Windows 7 compares with Windows Vista. I have
never used Vista. I learned a bit from the discussion of the features
but it did not actually explain how to set up a network with the other
computers in the work group or how to make them visible. It seems
that a home group would not work for me since that appears to require
that all PCs in the group are running Win. 7.

A couple of questions I have about the link.
1/ On page 2, it says that the dialog box saying which network I am on
has a Change button. Mine does not.
2/ On page 2, it says that the Advanced Sharing Options dialog box
maintains Home, Public and Domain network profiles. My system does
not have a Domain network profile.
I wonder if the differences could be because I have a home edition.

In the Advanced Sharing Options, I have Network Discovery turned on
for both available domains. But I still cannot see the XP PC although
the XP PC is reading files off my Windows 7 PC.

Thanks,
Peter.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
FromTheRafters
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 03:12 AM
Peter Lauren wrote:
> On Oct 5, 3:08 pm, hwf<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>>> On Oct 4, 9:28 am, G. Morgan<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>>>>> Any assistance with having the network visible on the Windows 7 PC
>>>>> would be greatly appreciated.
>>>> Go here:

>>
>>>> Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced
>>>> sharing settings

>>
>>>> Turn them all on.

>>
>>>> Explanation here:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...d-printers-bet...

>>
>>> Thanks. I had been trying to work through that link before. I make
>>> sure that both machines have the same workgroup. I also have the
>>> right advanced sharing settings. But I can't go into Network in
>>> Windows 7. The Windows Explorer window on has> Computer> but not>
>>> Network>

>>
>>> Thanks,
>>> Peter.

>>
>> Just follow the instructions here:
>> <http://www.petri.co.il/inside-windows-7-network-and-sharing-center.htm>
>>
>> HTH
>>
>> --http://www.privacySOS.org|http://www.extinctioncrisis.orgwww.s...savewolves.org
>> _____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
>> / __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
>> _\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
>> /___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

>
> Thank you for getting back to me about this. I tried the link and it
> mainly discusses how Windows 7 compares with Windows Vista. I have
> never used Vista. I learned a bit from the discussion of the features
> but it did not actually explain how to set up a network with the other
> computers in the work group or how to make them visible. It seems
> that a home group would not work for me since that appears to require
> that all PCs in the group are running Win. 7.
>
> A couple of questions I have about the link.
> 1/ On page 2, it says that the dialog box saying which network I am on
> has a Change button. Mine does not.
> 2/ On page 2, it says that the Advanced Sharing Options dialog box
> maintains Home, Public and Domain network profiles. My system does
> not have a Domain network profile.
> I wonder if the differences could be because I have a home edition.


Bingo!

IIRC Vista Home could not join a domain and had no domain policy tool, I
was just wondering if W7 had a similar aspect.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter Lauren
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 03:32 AM
On Oct 5, 3:14 pm, hwf <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Peter Lauren wrote:
>
> > I looked at my first message and saw that I neglected to mention that
> > the XP PC is supposed to be in the DMZ while the Windows 7 PC is
> > behind a router. I am trying to set up a DMZ with the web layer
> > connected to the Internet and the application layer accessible only
> > from the web layer through a type of filter so that it cannot have
> > direct access from the Internet. I have ZoneAlarm on both PCs and the
> > two PC are connected through a LinkSys router. I am on a steep
> > learning curve which is why I'm here.

>
> > Thanks,
> > Peter.

>
> I'd suggest you let the router handle the firewall, not zone-alarm.
> Same with any windows firewalls; disable them and let the router take
> care of things. From what Ive read, trying to do what you want via
> "Workgroups" isnt going to be easy. You'd be better off either using 3rd
> party software with an idiot-proof interface or learning how to set up
> "Domains".
>
> HTH
> --http://www.privacySOS.org|http://www.extinctioncrisis.orgwww.s...savewolves.org
> _____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
> / __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
> _\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
> /___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\


Would it not make the system less secure if I disabled the software
firewalls unnecessarily?
 
Reply With Quote
 
hwf
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 04:50 AM
Peter Lauren <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
news:(E-Mail Removed):

> On Oct 5, 3:14 pm, hwf <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>>
>> > I looked at my first message and saw that I neglected to mention
>> > that the XP PC is supposed to be in the DMZ while the Windows 7 PC
>> > is behind a router. I am trying to set up a DMZ with the web layer
>> > connected to the Internet and the application layer accessible only
>> > from the web layer through a type of filter so that it cannot have
>> > direct access from the Internet. I have ZoneAlarm on both PCs and
>> > th

> e
>> > two PC are connected through a LinkSys router. I am on a steep
>> > learning curve which is why I'm here.

>>
>> > Thanks,
>> > Peter.

>>
>> I'd suggest you let the router handle the firewall, not zone-alarm.
>> Same with any windows firewalls; disable them and let the router take
>> care of things. From what Ive read, trying to do what you want via
>> "Workgroups" isnt going to be easy. You'd be better off either using
>> 3rd party software with an idiot-proof interface or learning how to
>> set up "Domains".
>>

>
> Would it not make the system less secure if I disabled the software
> firewalls unnecessarily?
>

Not if you have the hardware firewall set up properly. The more I think
about your "issue" the more it seems that what you want is a VPN.


--
http://www.skepticalscience.com/
http://stopbeck.com|www.snuhwolf.9f....eyeonpalin.org
_____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
/ __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
_\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
/___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

 
Reply With Quote
 
hwf
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 05:01 AM
Peter Lauren <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
news:(E-Mail Removed):

> On Oct 5, 3:08 pm, hwf <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>> > On Oct 4, 9:28 am, G. Morgan <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> >> Peter Lauren wrote:
>> >>> Any assistance with having the network visible on the Windows 7
>> >>> PC would be greatly appreciated.
>> >> Go here:

>>
>> >> Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing
>> >> Center\Advanced sharing settings

>>
>> >> Turn them all on.

>>
>> >> Explanation
>> >> here:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-7/share-files-

> and-printers-bet...
>>
>> > Thanks. I had been trying to work through that link before. I mak

> e
>> > sure that both machines have the same workgroup. I also have the
>> > right advanced sharing settings. But I can't go into Network in
>> > Windows 7. The Windows Explorer window on has > Computer > but no

> t >
>> > Network >

>>
>> > Thanks,
>> > Peter.

>>
>> Just follow the instructions here:
>> <http://www.petri.co.il/inside-window...ring-center.ht
>> m>
>>

>
> Thank you for getting back to me about this. I tried the link and it
> mainly discusses how Windows 7 compares with Windows Vista. I have
> never used Vista. I learned a bit from the discussion of the features
> but it did not actually explain how to set up a network with the other
> computers in the work group or how to make them visible. It seems
> that a home group would not work for me since that appears to require
> that all PCs in the group are running Win. 7.
>
> A couple of questions I have about the link.
> 1/ On page 2, it says that the dialog box saying which network I am on
> has a Change button. Mine does not.
> 2/ On page 2, it says that the Advanced Sharing Options dialog box
> maintains Home, Public and Domain network profiles. My system does
> not have a Domain network profile.
> I wonder if the differences could be because I have a home edition.
>

I'd say thats very likely. XP Home also lacked networking options that
Pro has.

> In the Advanced Sharing Options, I have Network Discovery turned on
> for both available domains. But I still cannot see the XP PC although
> the XP PC is reading files off my Windows 7 PC.
>
> Thanks,
> Peter.


I'd pick a computer and get the necessary software to turn it into a file
server and just use it for that. VPN would do it. Apache would also work.
Not really seeing why you wish to network these two computers just to
serve up some files to the Internet. Thats a job you can do with one
dedicated "server" pc.


--
http://www.skepticalscience.com/
http://stopbeck.com|www.snuhwolf.9f....eyeonpalin.org
_____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
/ __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
_\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
/___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

 
Reply With Quote
 
hwf
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 05:04 AM
FromTheRafters <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
news:j6j6be$4gl$(E-Mail Removed):

> Peter Lauren wrote:
>> On Oct 5, 3:08 pm, hwf<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>>>> On Oct 4, 9:28 am, G. Morgan<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>>>> Peter Lauren wrote:
>>>>>> Any assistance with having the network visible on the Windows 7
>>>>>> PC would be greatly appreciated.
>>>>> Go here:
>>>
>>>>> Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing
>>>>> Center\Advanced sharing settings
>>>
>>>>> Turn them all on.
>>>
>>>>> Explanation
>>>>> here:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...iles-and-print
>>>>> ers-bet...
>>>
>>>> Thanks. I had been trying to work through that link before. I
>>>> make sure that both machines have the same workgroup. I also have
>>>> the right advanced sharing settings. But I can't go into Network
>>>> in Windows 7. The Windows Explorer window on has> Computer>
>>>> but not> Network>
>>>
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> Peter.
>>>
>>> Just follow the instructions here:
>>> <http://www.petri.co.il/inside-window...aring-center.h
>>> tm>
>>>

>>
>> Thank you for getting back to me about this. I tried the link and it
>> mainly discusses how Windows 7 compares with Windows Vista. I have
>> never used Vista. I learned a bit from the discussion of the
>> features but it did not actually explain how to set up a network with
>> the other computers in the work group or how to make them visible.
>> It seems that a home group would not work for me since that appears
>> to require that all PCs in the group are running Win. 7.
>>
>> A couple of questions I have about the link.
>> 1/ On page 2, it says that the dialog box saying which network I am
>> on has a Change button. Mine does not.
>> 2/ On page 2, it says that the Advanced Sharing Options dialog box
>> maintains Home, Public and Domain network profiles. My system does
>> not have a Domain network profile.
>> I wonder if the differences could be because I have a home edition.

>
> Bingo!
>
> IIRC Vista Home could not join a domain and had no domain policy tool,
> I was just wondering if W7 had a similar aspect.


I'm xposting this so the A2600 crowd can chime in...better h4Xrz over
there...

--
http://www.skepticalscience.com/
http://stopbeck.com|www.snuhwolf.9f....eyeonpalin.org
_____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
/ __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
_\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
/___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

 
Reply With Quote
 
hwf
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 05:25 AM
Peter Lauren <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in news:07b9fdee-216f-4d0d-
(E-Mail Removed):

> On Oct 4, 4:28 am, Desk Rabbit <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>> To properly implement a DMZ you need a hardware firewall. It sounds

like
>> you are using software firewalls on the PCs and if you think a VM is
>> easier to hack then it sounds like you are well out of your depth
>> because that's not the reason I suggested using them.
>>
>> I have many years experience in installing & running web facing

servers
>> for business clients and I've never had a breach. You are on course to
>> be the next spam source and bot net member.

>
> Thank you for your reply. The PCs are connected through a Linksys
> router. with an SPI firewall. The available Internet filters are
> - Filter anonymous Internet requests
> - Filter multicast
> - Filter Internet NA redirection
> - Filter Indet (Port 113)
>
> It can also block the following applications: NDS, ping, gttp, https,
> ftp, pop, imap, nntp, telnet, shmp, tftp and IKE
>
> I have started reading up on virtual machines and will try to get back
> about that tomorrow.
>
> Thanks,
> Peter
>

Here, read this;
<http://www.somacon.com/p41.php>

Running IIS on Windows XP Professional

Many people do not know that Windows XP Professional includes a fully
functional web server, Microsoft IIS 5.1. For a small office or home,
this is incredibly convenient. If you're a developer who wants to try web
development with HTML, Javascript, Active Server Pages (ASP), or
VBScript, having IIS can allow you to experiment quickly with files on
your local system. Of course, you could always download and install the
free and robust Apache web server, but IIS is somewhat simpler and the
documentation is better.



--
http://www.skepticalscience.com/
http://stopbeck.com|www.snuhwolf.9f....eyeonpalin.org
_____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
/ __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
_\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
/___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter Lauren
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 09:25 PM
On Oct 5, 11:12 pm, FromTheRafters <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> PeterLaurenwrote:
> > On Oct 5, 3:08 pm, hwf<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> >>PeterLaurenwrote:
> >>> On Oct 4, 9:28 am, G. Morgan<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> >>>>PeterLaurenwrote:
> >>>>> Any assistance with having the network visible on the Windows 7 PC
> >>>>> would be greatly appreciated.
> >>>> Go here:

>
> >>>> Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced
> >>>> sharing settings

>
> >>>> Turn them all on.

>
> >>>> Explanation here:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...d-printers-bet...

>
> >>> Thanks. I had been trying to work through that link before. I make
> >>> sure that both machines have the same workgroup. I also have the
> >>> right advanced sharing settings. But I can't go into Network in
> >>> Windows 7. The Windows Explorer window on has> Computer> but not>
> >>> Network>

>
> >>> Thanks,
> >>>Peter.

>
> >> Just follow the instructions here:
> >> <http://www.petri.co.il/inside-windows-7-network-and-sharing-center.htm>

>
> >> HTH

>
> >> --http://www.privacySOS.org|http://www.extinctioncrisis.orgwww.s...savewolves.org
> >> _____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
> >> / __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
> >> _\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
> >> /___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\

>
> > Thank you for getting back to me about this. I tried the link and it
> > mainly discusses how Windows 7 compares with Windows Vista. I have
> > never used Vista. I learned a bit from the discussion of the features
> > but it did not actually explain how to set up a network with the other
> > computers in the work group or how to make them visible. It seems
> > that a home group would not work for me since that appears to require
> > that all PCs in the group are running Win. 7.

>
> > A couple of questions I have about the link.
> > 1/ On page 2, it says that the dialog box saying which network I am on
> > has a Change button. Mine does not.
> > 2/ On page 2, it says that the Advanced Sharing Options dialog box
> > maintains Home, Public and Domain network profiles. My system does
> > not have a Domain network profile.
> > I wonder if the differences could be because I have a home edition.

>
> Bingo!
>
> IIRC Vista Home could not join a domain and had no domain policy tool, I
> was just wondering if W7 had a similar aspect.


W7 is beginning to look like a step backwards from XP in this
respect. My XP is a home edition as well.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter Lauren
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-10-2011, 09:32 PM
On Oct 6, 12:50 am, " hw f" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> PeterLauren<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote innews:(E-Mail Removed):
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Oct 5, 3:14 pm, hw f <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> >>PeterLaurenwrote:

>
> >> > I looked at my first message and saw that I neglected to mention
> >> > that the XP PC is supposed to be in the DMZ while the Windows 7 PC
> >> > is behind a router. I am trying to set up a DMZ with the web layer
> >> > connected to the Internet and the application layer accessible only
> >> > from the web layer through a type of filter so that it cannot have
> >> > direct access from the Internet. I have ZoneAlarm on both PCs and
> >> > th

> > e
> >> > two PC are connected through a LinkSys router. I am on a steep
> >> > learning curve which is why I'm here.

>
> >> > Thanks,
> >> >Peter.

>
> >> I'd suggest you let the router handle the firewall, not zone-alarm.
> >> Same with any windows firewalls; disable them and let the router take
> >> care of things. From what Ive read, trying to do what you want via
> >> "Workgroups" isnt going to be easy. You'd be better off either using
> >> 3rd party software with an idiot-proof interface or learning how to
> >> set up "Domains".

>
> > Would it not make the system less secure if I disabled the software
> > firewalls unnecessarily?

>
> Not if you have the hardware firewall set up properly. The more I think
> about your "issue" the more it seems that what you want is a VPN.
>
> --http://www.skepticalscience.com/http://stopbeck.com|www.snuhwolf.9f.com|www.eyeonpalin.org
> _____ ____ ____ __ /\_/\ __ _ ______ _____
> / __/ |/ / / / / // // . . \\ \ |\ | / __ \ \ \ __\
> _\ \/ / /_/ / _ / \ / \ \| \| \ \_\ \ \__\ _\
> /___/_/|_/\____/_//_/ \_@_/ \__|\__|\____/\____\_\


I'm new to this so maybe setting the HW firewall up properly is the
trick. I told Mr. Rabbit what I have on my router. That is:
The PCs are connected through a Linksys router with an SPI firewall.
The available Internet filters are
- Filter anonymous Internet requests
- Filter multicast
- Filter Internet NA redirection
- Filter Indet (Port 113)

It can also block the following applications: NDS, ping, gttp, https,
ftp, pop, imap, nntp, telnet, shmp, tftp and IKE.

Would the correct settings there work?

I've been reading about VPNs. They seem to be mainly for tunneling to
remote locations but could conceivably be used between computers. The
important thing is that I want the web server to be accessible from
the Internet and to be able to call php and html scripts from the app.
server. But I do not want hackers to be able to access code on the
app. server. If they could access code on the shared folders, that
would not necessarily be a problem. But if they could access files in
the unshared folders it definitely would.

Seems VPNs need ceritficates and/or passwords to access the target
site. If they could be sent from the web server then it seems that
hackers could get them from the web server.

Thanks,
Peter.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can computers sharing a router get a virus from one another with file sharing turned off? Jay A Anti-Virus 2 03-03-2007 03:49 AM
Data segment sharing problem Victor Zaslavsky Security Software 3 20-10-2006 03:37 AM
Sharing Encrypted files Noemi Security Software 1 30-03-2005 09:32 AM
File sharing between an AD Domain controller and a member server through a firewall Clementius Security Software 3 21-06-2004 10:55 PM
URGENT Problem sharing a folder!!! Harry Security Software 4 01-08-2003 05:20 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.