Anti-Spyware Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

How to remove Spybot S&D resident program?

 
 
Bob Jones
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      29-08-2004, 09:15 PM
I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the resident
program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.

However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still interfering
with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I can
remove.

How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Will Dormann
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      29-08-2004, 09:28 PM
Bob Jones wrote:

> I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
> Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the resident
> program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.
>
> However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still interfering
> with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I can
> remove.
>
> How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.


HijackThis should be able to remove the Spybot BHO, if it wasn't
properly removed after a normal uninstall and reboot.


-WD
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Han
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      29-08-2004, 09:32 PM
(E-Mail Removed) (Bob Jones) wrote in
news:(E-Mail Removed) om:

> I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
> Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the resident
> program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.
>
> However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still interfering
> with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I can
> remove.
>
> How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.


Spybot is NOT blocking Travelocity.com (Firfox 0.9.3, XP Home SP2).
However, since my latest experience I'm not going to use travelocity
anymore. I booked a flight to Italy for my boss. Now I wanted to change
the return flight from leaving Pisa at 6:50 and flying via Milan back to
JFK to returning from Pisa at 11:05 via Rome to JFK. Unfortunately, the
original flights were booked on Delta (actually Alitalia, but a Delta
flight#), and changing the flights to Alitalia all the way would cost $493!
Thieves!

--
Best regards
Han
email address is invalid
 
Reply With Quote
 
Charani
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      30-08-2004, 09:43 AM
On 29 Aug 2004 14:15:22 -0700, Bob Jones wrote:

> I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
> Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the resident
> program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.
>
> However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still interfering
> with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I can
> remove.
>
> How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.


How or why is SpyBot blocking access to the site?? I've never heard
of it doing anything like that before. I would have thought that it
was more likely your firewall or AV that was doing the blocking for
some reason.

<<<< puzzled
 
Reply With Quote
 
Charani
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      30-08-2004, 09:47 AM
On Mon, 30 Aug 2004 10:43:07 +0100, Charani wrote:


> How or why is SpyBot blocking access to the site?? I've never heard
> of it doing anything like that before. I would have thought that it
> was more likely your firewall or AV that was doing the blocking for
> some reason.
>
> <<<< puzzled


PS I've just tried the site and got in no problem and that's with
Resident SD Helper active but not TeaTimer.

<<<< still puzzled
 
Reply With Quote
 
::SteveL::
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      30-08-2004, 10:07 AM
Bob Jones wrote:

> I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
> Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the resident
> program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.
>
> However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still interfering
> with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I can
> remove.
>
> How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.


Travelocity works for me, Spybot S&D, WinXP Pro, Tea-Timer active...
 
Reply With Quote
 
cmsix
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      30-08-2004, 02:21 PM

"::SteveL::" <"::SteveL::"@> wrote in message
news:4132fc66$0$22820$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Bob Jones wrote:
>
>> I uninstalled Spybot because it was preventing me from using the
>> Travelocity site. And yes, even when I tried to disable the
>> resident
>> program from within Spybot, it still blocked the site.
>>
>> However, the Spybot resident S&D remains, and it's still
>> interfering
>> with Travelocity. I can't find any more references to S&D that I
>> can
>> remove.
>>
>> How do I remove Spybot S&D from my PC? I'm running XP Professional.

>
> Travelocity works for me, Spybot S&D, WinXP Pro, Tea-Timer active...


He probably has something that he doesn't really want on there
crapping him up, and Spybot was a good somethign to blame. I went
right to the sight and had not troubles.

cmsix


 
Reply With Quote
 
Bob Jones
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      31-08-2004, 07:54 AM
Wow! Rarely have I encountered such a group of indifferent,
disconnected jackasses as I have on this newsgroup.

The fact is, Spybot S&D IS popping up when I try to use the
Travelocity site with IE 6 and it IS blocking the site.

And the resident program continues to pop up even after I uninstalled
Spybot.

Hey, but thanks to the one user who actually provided a useful
suggestion. To the rest of you, travel safely.


> He probably has something that he doesn't really want on there
> crapping him up, and Spybot was a good somethign to blame. I went
> right to the sight and had not troubles.

 
Reply With Quote
 
--Mike
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      31-08-2004, 08:18 AM

"Bob Jones" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> Wow! Rarely have I encountered such a group of indifferent,
> disconnected jackasses as I have on this newsgroup.
>
> The fact is, Spybot S&D IS popping up when I try to use the
> Travelocity site with IE 6 and it IS blocking the site.
>
> And the resident program continues to pop up even after I uninstalled
> Spybot.
>
> Hey, but thanks to the one user who actually provided a useful
> suggestion. To the rest of you, travel safely.
>


Hi Bob,

I found this in the Net-Integration forums. It explains why Spybot is
blocking Travelocity and you are getting warning messages. This thread does
not discuss why SD Resident is still operating after uninstalling Spybot. I
will keep looking for more info for you.
http://forums.net-integration.net/in...hl=travelocity

--Mike


 
Reply With Quote
 
--Mike
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      31-08-2004, 08:32 AM
Bob,

Here is a thread with a Travelocity workaround if you would like to keep
Spybot. Someone wrote a script to specifically open a Travelocity window,
with the SD Resident turned off just for this site/window. The thread is 2
pages. Full instructions and explanation can be found on the 2nd page of
posts. It looks pretty good as a workaround.
http://forums.net-integration.net/in...hl=travelocity

--Mike


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable SpyBot Resident's alert popups... possible? trippknightly@hotmail.com Spyware 1 29-12-2006 08:08 PM
Spybot-SD Resident steve podleski Spyware 16 29-11-2005 02:10 PM
How to test Spybot S&D Resident scanner Peter Spyware 0 18-11-2004 09:38 PM
Spybot, Clearing items listed in resident Suicyco Spyware 1 25-08-2004 07:22 AM
SpyBot "Tea Timer" - Resident, Help File available SJL Spyware 1 29-05-2004 10:39 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.